To view a partner in this country click on their picture below.

Officially the Republic of Burundi, this landlocked country in the African Great Lakes region of East Africa, is bordered by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west.  It is also considered part of Central Africa.   The southwestern border is adjacent to Lake Tanganyika. 


Burundi remains an overwhelmingly rural society, with just 13% of the population living in urban areas in 2013. The population density is around 315 people per square kilometer (753 per sq mi) is the second highest in Sub-Saharan Africa.  Roughly 85% of the population are of Hutu ethnic origin, 15% are Tutsi, and fewer than 1% are indigenous Twa (or Pygmies).   The official languages of Burundi are French and Kirundi, although Swahili can be found spoken along the Tanzanian border. Burundi's capital is Bujumbura.  []

Return to Top